Why I haven’t stopped thinking about Jennifer Hopper and Teresa Butz

Since I read Eli Sanders Pultizer-winning feature, ‘The Bravest Woman in Seattle‘, published in The Stranger, I haven’t stopped thinking about Jennifer Hopper and Teresa Butz. I read right through, and I’m not ashamed to say that I had to stop and take deep breaths on occasion. But at the same time, I could not stop reading.

Honestly, I do not have the words to describe why this is one of the most beautifully written pieces I have ever read in my life. But suffice to say that Eli Sanders has not just told the horrific story of what happened to Jennifer Hopper and Teresa Butz on that July night in Seattle, but he has told it with immense respect, upholding every possible standard of high-quality, ethical, long-form journalism.

As a friend whom I emailed the link to just said to me: How can a piece about something so horrific be so beautifully done. But it is.

Please also read the follow-up, in Jennifer Hopper’s own words: I would like you to know my own name.

2 Comments

Filed under Must-read

2 responses to “Why I haven’t stopped thinking about Jennifer Hopper and Teresa Butz

  1. ammujo

    Thanks for calling attention to this remarkable article about a horrifying, heart-rending experience, Anupama. You’re right, somehow, despite the terrible nature of the story she had to tell, Eli Sanders has managed to make it inspiring.

  2. Ann

    Teresa was a friend of mine. It me a while to get through the entire story because I didn’t know some of the more specific details of what happened that night and it was hard to take all of it in. I’m glad Eli Sanders didn’t hold back about the horrific details of that night. People need to know that evil exists and that both of them fought for their lives that night. Thinking of you, Teresa.

Leave a Reply

